We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

About the Committee

The NECA Codes and Standards Committee is involved with development, administration, and enforcement of installation codes, safety standards, product standards, and other related industry regulations. This includes, but is not limited to, the National Electrical Code (NEC®), National Electrical Installation Standards (NEIS™), National Electrical Safety Code (NESC), Various NFPA Standards, UL Safety Standards, and OSHA Regulations. Members of the NECA Codes and Standards Committee serve on National Electrical Code-Making Panels, NEIS Technical Subcommittees, and other standards development committees and subcommittees.


NECA’s role in the standards development process is important to the electrical industry, as it has been for over one hundred years. NECA is the voice of installers and maintainers at the NEC hearings and is a vital part of developing Code rules that are understandable, practical, and enforceable. NECA takes this responsibility very seriously and values the opportunity to serve the industry working with NFPA in the development of the NEC and other key electrical industry standards.

The NECA representatives are appointed to technical committees to represent the interests of the electrical contractor in electrical code and standard development. NECA representatives provide the voice of electrical contractors including installers and maintainers. The NFPA technical committee membership classification of NECA representatives is I/M which stands for Installer/Maintainer. This classification provides representation of entities in the business of installing or maintaining a product, assembly, or system affected by the standard. The NECA representatives are responsible for taking part in the discussions and debates at the meetings and hearings of the committee during the cycle of development. NECA representatives participate in this open consensus process and vote in the best interest of electrical contractors and their employees.

2017 Codes & Standards Committee Roster

  • James McDonald, Chair
    Vice President District 8
    J & M Electric Inc
    3316 W Central Ave
    Missoula, MY 59804-6332
  • Tim Hinson
    North Florida Chapter
    Miller Electric Company
    PO Box 1799
    Jacksonville, FL 32201-1799
  • Martin Adams
    Southern Colorado Chapter
    Adams Electric Inc
    320 S Santa Fe Ave
    Pueblo, CO 81003-3537
  • Kyle Krueger
    Milwaukee Chapter
    11001 W Plank Ct. Suite 120
    Wauwatosa, WI 53226
  • William A Brunner
    Dakotas Chapter
    Main Electric Construction Inc
    2626 Valley St
    Minot, ND 58702-0936
  • Kelly Lamp
    Idaho Chapter
    102 S 17th St, Suite 201
    Boise, ID 83702-5177
  • Scott Cline
    Los Angeles County Chapter
    McMurtrey Electric Inc
    267 E Pomona Blvd
    Monterey Park, CA 91755
  • John Luke
    Iowa Chapter
    ESCO Electric Company
    PO Box 708
    Marion, IA 52302
  • Larry Cogburn
    North Florida Chapter
    Cogburn Bros Electric Inc
    3300 Faye Rd
    Jacksonville, FL 32226
  • James McGowan
    QUANTA Services Inc
    2800 Post Oak Blvd, Ste 2600
    Houston, TX 77056-6175
  • Robert Davies Jr
    San Diego Chapter
    Davies Electric Company Inc
    9085 Kenamar Dr
    San Diego, CA 92121-2421
  • Fred Neubauer
    Los Angeles County Chapter
    Neubauer Electric Inc
    11388 Knott St
    Garden Grove, CA 92841
  • Stanley J Folz
    Northern Illinois Chapter
    Morse Electric Inc
    625 E Pamalyn Ave
    Las Vegas, NV 89119-3636
  • Timothy O'Brien
    San Diego County Chapter
    Chula Vista Electric
    9344 Wheatlands Rd
    Santee, CA 92071-5643
  • Bobby J. Gray
    Hoydar-Buck Inc
    431 Suntides Blvd
    Yakima, WA 98816
  • Michael Owen
    East Tennessee Chapter
    White Electrical Construction Company
    1801 E 23rd St
    Chattanooga, TN 37404
  • Nathan Philips
    Oregon-Pacific-Cascade Chapter
    Integrated Electronic Systems
    541 Williamette St #109
    Eugene, OR 97401
  • Steve Poholski
    Michigan Chapter
    Newkirk Electric Associates Inc
    1875 Roberts St
    Muskegon, MI 49442-6094
  • Richard W Tice
    Mahoning Valley Chapter
    VEC Inc
    977 Tibbetts Wick Rd
    Girard, OH 44420
  • Don Rabel
    Southeast Texas Chapter
    Mid-West Electric Co Inc
    3828 Pinemont
    Houston, TX 77018
  • Ronald J Toomer
    Baton Rouge Chapter
    Toomer Electric Company Inc
    13050 Airline Hwy
    Baton Rouge, LA 70817-5274
  • Harry J Sassaman
    Northern New Jersey Chapter
    Forest Electric Corporation
    206 McGaw Dr
    Edison, NJ 08837-3637
  • Steve Trapp
    Oregon-Columbia Chapter
    Christenson Electric Inc
    PO Box 10286
    Portland, OR 97296
  • Timothy J Schultheis II
    Western Pennsylvania Chapter
    Schultheis Electric / TSB Inc
    PO Box 798, 304 Sanford St
    Latrobe, PA 15650
  • Michael P Weaver
    Oregon-Pacific-Cascade Chapter
    M & W Electric Inc
    29889 Hwy 34
    Albany, OR 97321
  • Bruce D Shelly
    Pen-Del-Jersey Chapter
    Shelly Electric Company Inc
    1126 Callowhill St
    Philadelphia, PA 19123-3797
  • Thomas H Wood
    Northern Illinois Chapter
    Cecil B Wood Inc
    1610 Kilburn Ave
    Rockford, IL 61101
  • Michael W Smith
    St. Louis Chapter
    Schaeffer Electric Company
    4667 Green Park Rd
    St. Louis, MO 63123-7203
  • Paul J Yesbeck
    South Florida Chapter
    Acolite Claude United Sign Co
    540 W 83rd St
    Hialeah, FL 33014
  • Tom G Smith
    Western Oklahoma Chapter
    Cox Systems Technology
    111 NW 9th St
    Oklahoma City, OK 73102
  • Michael J Johnston, Secretary
    Executive Director, Standards & Safety
    NECA Inc
    3 Bethesda Metro Center #1100
    Bethesda, MD 20814
  • Richard Sobel
    New York City Chapter
    Quantum Electric Corporation
    36-24 34th St
    Long Island City, NY 11106
  • Wesley L Wheeler, Assistant Secretary
    Director, Safety
    NECA Inc
    3 Bethesda Metro Center #1100
    Bethesda, MD 20814