We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

By collective bargaining agreements, labor disputes in the industry are referred to the Council on Industrial Relations and parties to the disputes are pledged to abide by the result of this voluntary arbitration procedure. It hears disputes that cannot be settled locally and makes decisions. As a result of this procedure, millions of dollars in lost wages have been saved for electrical workers and millions of dollars in lost business opportunities have been preserved for electrical contractors.

The Council was founded in 1920, and it is sponsored by the IBEW and NECA. It is composed of a panel of 12 regular members and alternates, half of whom are appointed by each sponsoring organization.

When selecting NECAs appointees to serve on the Council, the President is guided by the recommendations contained in the Board of Governors 1953 Resolution regarding the matter. Experience has shown that the geographical location of members is relatively unimportant. However, a measure of consideration is given to it.

Regular meetings are held quarterly in February, May, August and November, at such times and place as may be selected by its Executive Committee. The Council adopts and publishes its own rules of procedure. It is not subject to the unilateral control of either of its sponsors. When in session, its members are expected to represent the industry, rather than either of the sponsoring organizations.

2017 Council on Industrial Relations

  • David A Hardt, Co-Chair
    Hardt Electric Inc
    4909 N Elston
    Chicago, IL 60630-2505
  • Darrell Gossett
    Central Indiana Chapter
    ERMCO Inc
    1625 W Thompson Rd
    Indianapolis, IN 46217-9349
  • John M Grau, Co-Chair
    Chief Executive Officer
    NECA Inc
    3 Bethesda Metro Center #1100
    Bethesda, MD 20814
  • Mitchell J Marquart
    Missouri Valley Line Constructors Chapter
    Sachs Electric Company
    1572 Larkin Williams Rd
    Fenton, MO 63026
  • Gloria Ashford, Co-Chair
    Vice President District 6
    Ashford Electric & Construction
    PO Box 1705
    Woodinville, WA 98072
  • Thomas Peterson
    Southern New Jersey Chapter
    Parson Associates
    220 Davis Road
    Magnolia, NJ 08049
  • Daniel B Walsh, Co-Chair
    Vice President District 2
    United Electric Company Inc
    4333 Robards Ln
    Louisville, KY 40218-4511
  • Jody Shea
    Southeastern Line Constructors Chapter
    Service Electric Company
    1631 E 25th St
    Chattanooga, TN 37404
  • Geary M Higgins, Treasurer
    Vice President, Labor Relations
    NECA Inc
    3 Bethesda Metro Center #1100
    Bethesda, MD 20814
  • Jules W Weaver
    Western Line Constructors Chapter
    7001 S 900 E #240
    Midvale, UT 84047
  • Rory Berumen
    Rocky Mountain Chapter
    495 Uinta Way Suite 240
    Denver, CO 80230-7110
  • John C Wright
    South Texas Chapter
    Alterman Inc
    14703 Jones-Maltsberger Rd
    San Antonio, TX 78247-3713
  • Jerri L Champlin
    Monterey Bay California Chapter
    PO Box 2175
    Salinas, CA 93902
  • James Bowles (Future Leader)
    Gulf Coast Chapter
    B Electric Inc
    6644 HWY 17
    Florence, AL 35634
  • Michael Gilchrist
    Northeastern Line Constructors Chapter
    700 White Plains Rd #271
    Scarsdale, NY 10583-5063
  • Steve Krieg, Alternate
    Executive Director
    Eastern Region NECA
    4100 Edison Lakes Pkwy #160
    Mishawaka, IN 46545-3465
  • Bill C Orgill, Alternate
    Executive Director
    Western Region NECA
    2020 Horseshoe Ct SE
    Olympia, WA 98501
  • Richard A Parenti, Alternate
    Executive Director
    Eastern Region NECA
    36 South County Commons Way Unit C7
    South Kingstown, RI 02879
  • B David Roberts, Alternate
    Executive Director
    Southern Region NECA
    5001 Highway 190 #D6
    Covington, LA 70433